Integration of timelapse scRNA data

Hey all,

I am working on longitudinal 10X scRNA data of differentiation human pluripotent stem cells to neural progenitor cells.

In total, there are 8 timepoints sampled along 10 days of the differentiation protocol (0h, 8h, 24h, 48h, 72h, 96h, 168h, 240h).

When integrating the data using the scVI model with batch_key='timepoints', it seems to overcorrect and not preserve biological/temporal information (plot attached).

I am not really an expert, so I was wondering if you have any suggestions on how to best proceed with the integration using scVI. I thought of assigning additional covariates or changing the kl_weight parameter?

Looking forward to your suggestions!

Thanks and best,
Moritz

Hi Moritz,

When you provide ‘batches’ to scVI for integration, you are explicitly telling the model ‘Create a low-dimensional representation of the data that does not include variation due to the batches’.

If you did not want to remove variation explained by the time points, what did you actually want to do?

There are a number of potential ways to analyze these data, but what strategy you go for depends greatly on what you are aiming to learn from the data. If you describe briefly what you want to infer from the data, we might be able to point towards strategies that can help with this.

Best,
/Valentine

Hi Valentine,

thanks for reaching out!

In this case, I am interested in the developmental process and transcriptomic changes underlying the transition from pluripotent cells into differentiated neural progenitors. Since our differentiation protocol is relatively quick, I would for example expect that most transcriptomic changes occur over the first 5 to 6 timepoints while cells from timepoints 7 and 8 should not be very different from each other.