How loss function is used in CellAssign

Hi,

I’m trying to understand how loss function in CellAssignModule is used in CellAssign Training / Testing. I couldn’t find loss function being used in either file. Do you know in which step the Q function of EM algorithm is applied?

Thanks a lot!

I can find where loss function is defined, but couldn’t see where it is applied for parameter inference.

This is the E step:

This is the calculation of the expected log likelihood

The M step is not closed form, we use a black box optimizer like in the original cellassign

The loss above gets backpropagated to update all the model params.

Thanks @adamgayoso . It’s very helpful! I think I got the point of definition of E and Q functions. However, I’m still a little confused about the calling of loss function (Sorry I’m not very good at statistics and deep learning). I saw the calling of generative function in line 119 of CellAssign, but I’m not sure when the loss function defined in CellAssignModule is called.

I added print code within loss function to see if it’s called, and I couldn’t see the output of printing. I’m not sure whether and when the loss function is called. I guess I still need to understand better of the code.

Loss is called by this function here:

But there is a lot going on with code abstraction and the finer details of using PyTorch. What is it that you’d like to do?

Thanks so much @adamgayoso! It really helps, and I totally understand the abstraction of code, which make it more flexible and compatible. Really appreciate the hard work!