Questions about workflow for atlas processing, subsetting/subclustering

Hi all–sorry for a longish, perhaps naive questions. I’m relatively new to the python ecosystem after having worked in R for a while. It’s long overdue, but I’m messing around re-creating some workflows with these tools and am hitting some friction points. I was wondering if any of you would be willing to share thoughts on some questions I had about the fairly common use case of exploring structure within a subpopulation of some larger data set.

Let’s say it’s a typical "atlas’ project, integrating data of a complex tissue from various samples/studies. You do a low-level annotation to get broad classes of cell types (epithelial, immune, etc) and then want to explore diversity within each. If I were doing this in Seurat, for example, my workflow may be: integration > low-resolution clustering/annotation > subset > re-do feature selection on the relevant population > re-integrate > cluster at appropriate resolution > annotate

But working through something simple like this, I’ve had a few questions:

1. I think I’d like to have convenient access to counts and log1p for all features
If I’m using a count-based integration method (eg. scVI) but also want to re-do feature selection after subsetting, I need to be able to get counts for all features. Although I see many tutorials store log1p in .raw, I could store all counts in there instead. But then I’d put log1p in .X or a layer, but it will only have HVGs, which is kind of annoying for plotting where I may want broader access.

What do you all do here? I’ve seen comments about untransforming the log1p values from .raw. Or maybe storing the raw counts in .uns or something. Or perhaps you don’t re-do feature selection after subsetting and maybe just include more than 2k features in your HVGs. It all just feels a little clunky.