Thoughts on a more ~realistic tutorial?

I’m just getting started with scvi-tools — thanks for this amazing package!

When browsing the tutorials, they don’t seem applicable to analyzing new scRNA data – is there a workflow showing best practices when processing new data?

For example, I have a new scRNA dataset I’m trying to analyze – just Cell Ranger .mtx output. The tutorials I see all depend on previously known cell type annotations, metadata (e.g. percent_mito), marker matrices, etc.

Do you have a good workflow for processing totally new data (e.g. annotating unknown clusters, etc)? I’m envisioning something this (slightly aging) notebook but with scvi.

1 Like

I think it’s a good idea generally, I guess I always assumed users would come to scvi-tools after preprocessing with standard procedures in scanpy/seurat and I didn’t want to create an overlap in content.

Outside of the preprocessing, it is probably worth it to have a tutorial showing cluster annotation.

1 Like

Thanks – I’m doing scRNA work as very much a side project – I was inspired by your landing page’s " End-to-end analysis" bullet :slight_smile:

As someone very new to scRNA work, it’s unclear to me where scvi fits into a standard analysis — it looks like I’d build an scvi.model in lieu of scran / SCTransform / sc.pp.combat & sc.pp.regress_out — is that correct?

If you have 10x output folder from a paper (I prefer data that can be cited with a paper DOI so someone’s work get highlighted) I can make a quick notebook showing how I typically pull in data and fit a model for exploratory analysis with scVI :slight_smile: .

I use the scanpy read_10x_mtx() function, but after that it’s all an scVI model. Depending on available metadata you’d iterate on the model design (how do things look with and without integrating out batch? are batches so different that you need more layers? are there a lot of low-quality cells or just a few?, etc).